Observer Newspapers


March 18, 2019 1:29 pm

We Bring You the News

Saugatuck * Douglas * Saugatuck Township * Laketown Township * Fennville * Glenn * Ganges Township * Hamilton * Holland * South Haven

ADW Newsletter
Chesrown Chevrolet Buick GMC
Michigan Philanthropy Today
Saugatuck Douglas Coastal Alliance
Local Observer
Chesrown Chevrolet Buick GMC

Click on the icons above for the latest publications.


Saugatuck Scholarship Foundation Celebrates SHS' 2015 Award Winners

        The Saugatuck Scholarship Foundation (SSF) celebrated its 31st annual awards ceremony May 5th to recognize the Saugatuck High School’s class of 2015’s achievements and future plans.  
        Donors to the Saugatuck Scholarship Foundation have made it possible for the SSF to award $28,000 to this year’s high school graduates with several of the scholarships eligible for renewal.
        The $2,000 Dr. John Clinger Scholarship was awarded to Ivy Gibson with renewals that can increase the third and fourth year for a total scholarship of $10,000. Analise Avalos received the $2,500 renewable West Shore Aware Scholarship which also could have a total value of $10,000.  
        A SSF renewable scholarship of $1,500 was awarded to Danielle DeMond. This scholarship can increase during the third and fourth year for a total award of $8,000.
        Other renewable scholarships were: $500 Alice Clark Memorial Scholarship awarded to Mary Cappelletti for a total scholarship of $2,000; the Butler Business Scholarship of $500 awarded to Thomas Timmerman for a total of $2,000; and the Mary Wark Teaching Scholarship of $500 awarded to Adam Kimball, Ryan Nye and Kailey Gehres which can increase annually as they proceed in their teaching studies.  
        The $2,000 non-renewable Saugatuck Douglas Garden Club Scholarship was awarded to Rita Maslanka; the $500 non-renewable Mike Marsh Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Caroline Finn; the $500 non-renewable Sutton Stevenson Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Jacob Pettinga; and the $300 non-renewable Trade and Technical Scholarship was awarded to Skylar Fucile.
        Other non-renewable SSF Scholarships awarded were: $1,500 to Adam Kimball, $1,500 to Karensa Hofmeyer, $1,000 to Marena Tedaldi, $1,000 to Josephine Oren, $1,000 to Taylor Slais, $1,000 to Jessica Francis, $500 to Mary Cappelletti, and $500 to Thomas Timmerman.
        Additionally, $500 was awarded to Skylar Fucile, $500 to Caroline Finn, $500 to Madison Walston, $500 to Chase Howell, $500 to Mikayla Lacy, $500 to Ashton Greene, $500 to Rachel Sutherland, $300 to Ivy Gibson, $300 to Danielle DeMond, $300 to Analise Avalos, and $300 to Rita Maslanka.  
        In addition to the Saugatuck Scholarship Foundation High School awards, $12,000 will be awarded to SHS college students.      Congratulations to all of the 2015 Saugatuck Scholarship Foundation recipients!
        SHS Juniors should watch for the 2016 application which will be available on the Saugatuck High School website and will be due in March 2016.  
        The SSF welcomes additional donors and scholarships to increase the number of awards for coming years.
        Donations may be sent to SSF at PO Box 875, Saugatuck MI.  For more information regarding the scholarships or donations please contact the Allegan County Community Foundation at (269) 673-8344.

Saugatuck Scholarship Foundation Celebrates SHS’ 2015 Award Winners

© 2012-2017 Observer Newspapers, All Rights Reserved